Tuesday, 06 October 2015

Society’s 133rd show has great day in bad weather

THE 133rd Annual Show of Kirkby and District Floral and Horticultural Society was held earlier this month.

The show was well supported throughout the day, and in spite of poor weather there were entries in most classes with the exception of fruit.


The children produced a very good display in their classes and the National Wind Power Trophy was awarded to Jessica Newby for her exhibits.

Edward Maddock won the William D Murray Trophy and Connor Karacek and Charlotte Atkinson each won a Dr D T G Harris Plaque for their exhibits in the children’s section.


Exhibits in the floral art section were outstanding and Mrs Tonia Coward was awarded the President’s Cup for her exhibit.

Mr D Wilkinson was awarded the Joseph Coulton Challenge Cup for cut flowers, the Annie Anderson Rose Bowl, the Les Bell Trophy for chrysanthemums, the Thomas Kenworthy Memorial Trophy for dahlias and the Christian Cup for gladioli, also the Blue Ribbon.

Mrs M Robinson won the G & E Benson Trophy for the best rose and the Mrs M L Wayles Shield for cut flowers and pot plants went to Miss M Copley.

The Garden News Shield for best in Novice Class went to Mr G Southward.


The Fred Boulton Memorial Perpetual Challenge Cup, the Doug Metcalfe and Myles Saunders Trophies all for vegetables went to Mr G Rigg.


The Society Trophy for Handicrafts and the Thomas Mitchell Osbourne Memorial Trophy were both awarded to Mrs W Armistead. Mrs A Robinson was awarded the Handel Oldham Challenge Cup for Pot Plants.

The Muriel Metcalfe Trophy, the WI Trophy and the Society Trophy for Cookery were awarded to Mrs J Hodgson.

The Furness Association of Horticultural Societies’ Rosette for merit was awarded to Mrs C Stangroom.


More Kirkby news

Hot jobs

Evening Mail homepage


Do you want to see A595 road improvements or a new bridge across the Duddon?

A595 improvements

New Duddon bridge



Show Result

Follow us on Facebook
North West